The Tolkien Tag

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_akx6q5cyc4gksok88w4cgg0wk_640

How did your Middle Earth journey begin?

My journey to Middle Earth began when I was very young as my Mother read The Hobbit to me when I was about six. I then read the Lord of the Rings when in year two and also re-read The Hobbit too. I adore the movies and love collecting march. When I was young I used to play Elves with my younger brother in the forest by our house, that series has really contributed to making my childhood endlessly magical and fantastical. I think i’ll always love it.

What is your favorite Middle Earth book?

My favourite Middle Earth book is probably The Two Towers, although I have a big soft spot for Fellowship of the Ring as well. There’s a lot of action in the second book and we get to see the most character development, especially Frodo and Sam. They were so young and innocent when the journey began, so this book heavily emphasises their realisation and how they cope with all the horrible things they’ve seen. Merry and Pippin are also pretty hilarious, so that’s a definite bonus.

What is your favourite movie?

My favourite Tolkien movie would have to be The Hobbit; An Unexpected Journey, I just love their portrayal of Bilbo and the rest of Thorin’s Company. In the book we don’t actually see much of the other dwarves and there’s no description of their personalities (it’s a children’s book), whereas Peter Jackson has given everybody a really unique feel. I always loved Kili and Fili as a child, so it was wonderful to see them so developed in the films. Return of the king is also a great adaptation, I’m eternally grateful for the happy ending Jackson gave Aragon and Arwen, they are the absolute cutest.

Movies or books?

BOOKS! I don’t think I’m actually capable of ever choosing movies over books, they’ve been such an incredibly important part of my childhood and healing process. Especially in this case, Peter Jackson did an excellent job but his films will never compare to the books.

Who are your favorite characters?

This is a hard one, I’ve got a bit of a list; 

  1. Elrond – he’s one of the nicest characters and is pretty consistent throughout the Tolkien universe
  2. Thorin Oakenshield – I love his gruff attitude an the backstory to his character
  3. Bilbo Baggins – what an absolute legend! He’s just so realistic and says things how they are
  4. Kili and Fili Durin – super cute and supply a massive amount of comic relief
  5. Meriadoc Brandybuck – absolutely hilarious and adorably, as well as undyingly loyal to his partner in crime.
  6. Perrigrin Took – like his bestie, Pippin is pretty much the only thing that gives comedy to LotR, he’s also insanely cute and will do anything to protect his friends
  7. Legolas and Thranduil Greenleaf – SO MUCH SASS!
  8. Gandalf the Grey – what can I say? He’s a wizard and pretty much the only reason those idiots are still alive!

What Middle Earth race would you be?

I’d have to say Elf, and not because I’m elegant or immortal, I’m just way too tall to be a hobbit or dwarf. I think I’d live in Rivendell and spend my time reading about Middle Earth or travelling from place to place. Being one of the Ents would also be amazing, I could protect the forests and save the creatures that live there.

Best actor/character casting match?

There are some pretty phenomenal actors in this series, but there are three that are pretty much the exact description of their characters; Viggo Mortensen, Martin Freeman and Richard Armitage, they play Aragon, Bilbo and Thorin. It was so lovely to watch these three create their characters and bring them to life so well, I don’t think anybody else could have done more justice to the roles.

What is your favorite place in Middle Earth?

My favourite place in Middle Earth is probably either Rivendell or Erebor, they’re both visually stunning and have such a rich and important history to both stories. I love that Rivendell is where the Fellowship was founded and it’s so cool to see the dedication the dwarves have to Erebor and their homeland.

What is your favorite quote from the books or movies?

  • “Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer” – Samwise Gamgee LotR Two Towers.
  • “Never laugh at a live dragon” – Bilbo Baggins The Hobbit
  • “Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why” – Samwise Gamgee LotR Two Towers

A most bookish of regards,

The Book Owl

Leave a comment